The Society of Nigerian Broadcasters, (SNB) is set to hold its first National Conference in August this year.
According to a news release from the National Secretariat of SNB,the date for the maiden National conference was fixed at a meeting of the SNB National Conference Preparatory Committee held Thursday 25th January at the Abuja office of Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria.
The meeting which was attended by selected broadcast media professionals who are members of SNB from across the country approved a 3 day conference which includes workshops, meetings and Broadcasters’ Dinner.
Briefing the meeting, the CEO of Broadcast Media Africa a UK based media organisation Mr Benjamen Pius said the conference will have international dimensions as many Broadcasters from some African Countries have indicated interest to participate in the conference that promises to bring over 2,000 professional Broadcasters together.
Society of Nigerian Broadcasters is a profession association with the primary objective of promoting professionalism broadcasting.
Among those that attended the Conference Preparatory Committee meeting are
Ambassador ( Chief) Yemi Farounbi former Nigerian Ambassador to Philippines, Professor Armstrong Idachaba former Ag DG NBC, Professor Jendele Hungbo, Dean School of Social Sciences, Kola Daisi University, Ibadan, Dr Segun Aderiye former Director General Ekiti State Broadcasting Service, Hajia Saa Ibrahim former Director General, Abubakar Rimi Television Kano, Mr Yusuf Isah, General Manager Yobe State Television, Mr Fedrick Fabor General Bayelsa State Television, Paul Ate,General Manager, NTA Abuja, Mr Victor Iroele,Silverbird TV, Mr Ismail Sanni,MD WTV,Abuja, Mr Simbabi Ogbeha MD,Confluence Media, Mr Segun Olaleye former Executive Secretary, BON.
Others include Chief Festus Kehinde, SNB Ogun-State chapter, Mr Deji Balogun, SNB Lagos chapter, Hajia Aisha Sule, Kano State chapter and Dr.Oluyemisi Bamgbose,Executive Secretary BON and National Coordinator, SNB.
Usman Umar Bello
Secretay,Conference Preparatory Committee